Week 11: Frocks and things

Well I have come to the end of KJB222 and it’s been a pretty fun ride. Though the one last thing I want to talk about is Frocks. At the beginning of this semester I began my journey into fashion and style journalism (KFB205). For the last 8 years each cohort of KFB205 is challenged to all work together to produce (from scratch) the annual edition of Frock Paper Scissors (FPS).

frock paper scissors

FPS is definitely one of the most interesting journalistic projects I’ve been privileged to work on and I’m more than happy to tell you why. The really curious thing is for the fashion industry print (and by extension) magazines are not dead. Like newspapers, circulation of hard copy magazines are free falling but as Dhani Mau notes over at Fashionista,

“People are still reading magazines–just not in paper form. On average, sales of digital editions of magazines have nearly doubled and now account for 3.3% of total circulation” (in the US at least).

To me, the biggest advantage of digital magazines is the lower price on both sides of the equation (the readers and the publishers). Back home and the reality of KFB205 is that for us to print a mere 5000 copies of FPS we have to fundraise approximately $15 000. With this challenge in mind (and the possibility we may not meet that target) I can’t emphasize enough my love for digital magazines.

Fashion is an industry that must be communicated through a visual medium as the key to understanding it lies within the ‘aesthetic’ of something (photo, shoes, dress etc) is trying to make you feel. And for those, like me, who live on the fringes of the fashion industry, a magazine (Vogue, Elle, Harper’s Bazar etc.) is the clear window into that world.

Going through the looking glass to be involved in the making a fashion magazine has been terribly exciting and for some strange reason, I wouldn’t mind doing it again.

P.S. You can read my first published FPS feature here.

P.P.S. I’m still not a massive fan of blogging but I’m aiming to merge the better material here on to a new blog (on tumblr) that will cover all the areas of my life. It will include more pictures, quotes, cats and dresses.

P.P.P.S. If you are interested in how Vogue is put together, watch this.

Leave a Reply

